Get Lost in a Book

Whether curled up on the couch on a cold winter day or sprawled out on the beach during the summer, I love to read. I love getting lost in the flow of words within a great book. Most people spend the majority of their down time caught up in “reality” shows or mind numbing TV. I’m guilty of this too every once in a while (right now I’m hooked on Dexter), however, I find it much more relaxing to dive into a book. The book I read depends on my mood and I often find myself reading two or three books at a time. For instance, if I have time in the morning or during the day, I often want to read something informative to where I feel I have learned something when I put it down. On the other hand, when I read before bed at night, I find inspirational books or a good page-turning drama to be more appealing. I realized this morning that I don’t often talk about the books I am reading on this blog and that’s selfish of me because, recently, I have come across some pretty good books.

If you are looking for a good book to get you through any snow storm you may be having right now, here is a list of books I recommend checking out. I’ll try to make it a habit to continue the recommendations as I come across ones I think you would find enjoyable or beneficial.

Evil Plans by Hugh MacLeod
In this book, MacLeod discusses uniting what you do for a living with what you truly love. He talks you through and inspires you to create an “evil plan” in order to turn what you love into a career. As one of his cartoons say “life is too short not to do something that matters”.

The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff
Hoff describes the ways and the secret wisdom of a Taoist through the characters in Winnie the Pooh. Check out this book for an enlightened and different view on how we see things and how we live our lives.

The China Study by T. Colin Campbell, PhD
The China Study walks you through the most comprehensive study of nutrition that have ever been conducted. The findings are startling and will help change the way you think about the food you eat. What you thought was healthy may actually be detrimental to your long-term health. Carnivores may want to take a look. (Yay for plant eaters!)

Accidental Genius by Mark Levy
This book claims to “revolutionize your thinking through private writing”. I am currently reading this right now and definitely recommend it. It teaches you how to use personal writing (which I am a big fan of) to work through problems that you may be having and bring out ideas that are trapped in your mind.

Hope you enjoy these! If you have any recommendations for me, feel free to leave a comment. I’m always looking for good books to read!

3 thoughts on “Get Lost in a Book

  1. I like the addition of books recommendations to the blog! Accidental Genius is awesome; I’m working on finishing it, but Dan read it and had a “breakthrough moment” with his blogging. I love reading but recently switched to audiobooks because I spend 3 hours in the car everyday (thank you, Chicago traffic) — not the same as holding the book, but better than nothing 🙂

    • I hear ya on the audio books. I used to drive so many hours every day too so I really enjoyed listening to books. It helps the drive go by faster if I’m into a book.

Leave a Reply

