Grilled Romaine

As Spring slowly begins to sneak in, I find myself craving lighter meals, rather than the heavy, comfort foods of Winter. Salads have become more appealing to me, especially full meal salads like this one, and even smoothies have made a comeback.

This super green smoothie contained 1 frozen banana, 1 cup of spinach, 1/2 cup carrot juice, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, a dash of sweetener, and ice. Blended up and served in a tall beer glass that we got as a set from Chris’s parents. Yum, I loved the hint of cinnamon in this.

Back to the topic of salads. They can get old…fast. So, before I burn out on them before Spring and Summer are actually here, I’ve been trying to find ways to jazz them up a bit. It’s important to get creative with your salads and, really, you can pretty much put anything you want on top of lettuce and call it a salad. The other evening I wasn’t in the mood for the typical lettuce and veggie salad. I wanted something a little more soothing, and maybe even warm. I had purchased a package of hearts of romaine from Trader Joe’s, so instead of tearing them up into pieces, I decided to use them in their whole form and grill them. Ideally, you would want to do this on an actual grill or at least on a grill pan. However, I wasn’t going to stand out in the cold and grill, and I don’t own a grill pan, so sometimes cooking requires a little improv. I decided to slice the romaine in half and refer back to my baby bok choy recipe. I figured instead of grilling them, I could saute them slightly to get a similar effect. They turned out great and made for a wonderful salad and the perfect side dish to our meal 🙂

Grilled Romaine Salad
serves 2
Ingredients:

1 romaine heart cut in half, lengthwise
1 tsp olive oil
2 Tbsp dried cranberries
1 Tbsp pepitas
nutritional yeast
salt and fresh ground pepper
garlic powder
vegan caesar dressing

Directions:
1. Heat the olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Place the romaine hearts side by side and season with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Cook for 3-5 minutes. Flip and continue cooking for another 3-5 minutes. Romaine should begin to brown slightly.
2. Transfer to a plate and top with cranberries, pepitas, nutritional yeast and vegan ceasar dressing. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Grilled Romaine

Leave a Reply

