Oatmeal cookies for a snacky kind of day


This morning I woke up extremely tired. It was one of those days where I felt like I could sleep all day long. However, I had things to do so I was forced out of bed. The lack of energy has continued throughout the day and I find myself being really snacky. Studies has shown, and I believe this due to my own experience, that people consume more calories on days they are feeling tired. This is 100% true for me. If I don’t get a good night’s sleep, or am just feeling a lack in energy, I will be more likely to snack throughout the day. So, today, as I found my snack options to be minimal, I opted for cookies. However, the only cookies in the house came in a package, and were supposedly made by elves. Chris is, for some reason, drawn to these. I, however, prefer something homemade (and not by people who live in a tree).

When looking through my recipes I noticed that I don’t have one for oatmeal cookies! Shame on me. All that changed today when I whipped up these super simple Oatmeal Raisin/Chocolate Chip cookies. Get your soy or almond milk ready 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin/Chocolate Chip Cookies
makes about 20 cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup organic cane sugar
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
raisins and chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. In a small bowl, combine the pure maple syrup, oil, and vanilla together. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir. Fold in the amount of raisins and chocolate chips to your liking. I now give you permission to enjoy some of the cookie dough.
3. In between indulging in tastes of the dough, roll out tablespoon-sized balls and place on baking sheet. Gently press down to flatten the dough balls (they will flatten while baking as well).
4. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until they begin to slightly brown around the edges. They may still seem soft when taken out of the oven, but they will crisp up once they cool.

Enjoy with a glass of almond or soy milk on your afternoon snack break. Memories of coming home to an after school snack may ensue. Episodes of Salute Your Shorts not included.

Leave a Reply

