Dining Out as a Vegan


Besides the protein question, many people also wonder how I stay vegan when dining out. They assume that it’s impossible or I’m eating a plate of lettuce. Now, I admit, in some establishments a salad may be my only option, but I’m fortunate to live in a city that offers so many great options. With more people becoming vegetarian, restaurants are beginning to offer more veg-friendly fare to cater to all diets and to keep customers. Even if you are not vegetarian or vegan, I encourage you to sample some of the available food. You most likely will be pleasantly surprised.

Here’s a rundown of some of my favorite places to dine at, but please let me know if you know of others!

Columbus, OH vegan eateries:

Aladdin’s – So many options on the menu for vegans…..and I’m obsessed with hummus so I love this place!

Mad Mex – They offer tofu or portabellas to replace meat in dishes, as well as offering vegan cheese! Try the Thai Curry Burrito with Tofu, it’s amazing.

Mellow Mushroom – I’ve only been here once, but the tempeh sandwich I had was incredible. I can’t wait to go back again!

Tip Top – Basically all the Betty’s restaurants are incredible so try them!

Betty’s

Surly Girl

Northstar – Great veggie burger and I definitely recommend getting the Shooting Star.

Whole Wolrd

Z pizza

Banana Leaf

Dragonfly Neo-V

Pattycake Bakery – Their desserts are unreal. I love, love, love pattycake 🙂

Dirty Franks – Hot dogs, hot dogs, hot dogs!

These are some of the main places to check out for vegan food, but there are many places that offer a dish or two on their menu to accommodate. Of course Asian fare is usually a safe bet and many Mexican restaurants have a vegetarian section on their menu. Another tip is to call ahead. If you know you are going to be dining out at a particular place. Try calling ahead (the day before or early in the day when you will be going) and letting them know that you are vegan and will be dining at their establishment. Many times chefs are willing to accommodate to your diet if they know in advance and can having something prepared.

Hope this helps! Let me know if there are any restaurants that I missed. Happy eating 🙂

4 thoughts on “Dining Out as a Vegan

  1. Pingback: Dining Out as a Vegan | CookingPlanet

  2. I really can’t believe we have never ran into you in cbus…we frequent these places very often. Mad mex was last saturday!…so good…we visit dirty franks at least every other week…whole world bakery for brunch on sundays if we don’t cook…and pattycake bakery once a week on our way to the sawmill whole foods! I’m sure you didn’t mean to forget Hal and Al’s though! You can’t be vegan in cbus without stopping in there for some vegan bar food!

  3. And lacey just reminded me..mazah in grandview is a must visit. Get the columbus small business beanstock card and get discounts at a majority of these places as well.

    • I didn’t even know about Mazah. I’ll have to check it out! I can’t believe I don’t get to Hal and Al’s more, it’s right by my house! Also, funny you were at Mad Mex on Saturday, I was there Sunday, haha! I love that place. We’ll run into each other eventually, or we’ll just have to schedule a run in and have a double date!

Leave a Reply

