Sunflower Seed Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies


It’s cookie time again!

As I thought about what type of cookies to make this week, I thought about the jar of sunflower seed butter lurking in my refrigerator. It stares at me every time I open the door as I pass over it to grab my precious almond butter instead. I had heard about sunflower seed butter a little bit on a few blogs and was so pumped to try it out. I ran to Trader Joe’s (who was rumored to have the best), bought some, and rushed home to slather it on some bread, crackers, apples, or whatever I could find. Well, I may get some flack for this, but I didn’t like it. Maybe I was too used to my nut butters that the new taste didn’t sit well on my palate. Whatever it was, I decided it wasn’t for me. Disappointed that I just spent money on a jar that would surely go unused, I was determined to hang on to it in case my taste changed. Maybe it was an acquired taste, I thought. It has ended up that the jar has sat in my fridge forever…untouched. Yesterday I thought I would finally put it to use. I figured it would add a unique flavor to cookies, brownies, or even granola. I settled on cookies, and these delicious morsels were formed. Sunflower seed butter now has a place in my kitchen 🙂

Sunflower Seed Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies
makes 18-20 cookies
Ingredients:

1/2 cup sunflower seed butter
1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan margarine (or margarine of choice)
3/4 cup organic cane sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour (I used half whole wheat, half all-purpose)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Cream together the sunflower butter, Earth Balance, and sugar until fluffy.
2. Stir in the applesauce and vanilla.
3. Combine the flour, baking soda, and baking powder and gradually stir the dry ingredients into the wet.
4. Fold in the chocolate chips.
5. Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Gently press down slightly with back of spoon or fork.
6. Bake in a 350F oven for about 12 minutes, or until lightly golden brown. Let cool and store in an airtight container.

O.M.G. These are good. Now pass the milk.

One thought on “Sunflower Seed Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

