Flatbreads


So, I’ve discussed in the past how I used to greatly dislike pizza. Now, however, it’s a different story. There’s one exception though. I’d much rather make my own than order one!

It’s much more fun to top your pie just the way you like it and cook it till it’s done perfectly for you. Plus, the price is way cheaper to make your own, which is great for my super strict budget right now. Times are tough, but that doesn’t mean you have to give up eating delicious food ๐Ÿ™‚

Personally, I like a thin, crispy crust. That’s where Flatouts come into play. I discovered these a while back and would use them for sandwiches, however, didn’t think they were that great. FlatOuts used for pizzas on the other hand, makes it a whole new ball game. I’m glad I gave these flat, odd-shaped wraps another go!

A little tip I’ve found is to pre-bake the Flatout for a few minutes before topping it for a crispier crust. These also could be done on the grill and would be delicious!

The pictures are definitely not the best, however, here’s a little of what’s been cooking in my kitchen.

Mushroom, black, olive, pineapple, and Daiya pizza…random, but delish!
image

Tomato, mushroom, red pepper, black bean, and Tofutti sour cream pizza

Tomato, Basil, Spinach, and Daiya pizza (my favorite so far)

How to make your own Flatout pizza:

What you need:
Multi-grain with Flax Flatout
Sauce and toppings of choice
Daiya cheese (my vegan cheese of choice)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Bake the Flatout for about 6 minutes until slightly crisp. Remove from oven and top as desired. Place back in oven for another 5-8 minutes until crust is crispy and cheese is melted. Easy peasy ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

