Cool Coffee and a New Green

Hello June! Memorial Day weekend definitely kicked off our summer weather here in Ohio. We’ve had nothing but sunshine and hot, hot weather all week and the idea of cookouts, pools, and beaches has me very excited. However, I have had to tweak a few things in my normal routine due to the heat.

Case in point: My morning coffee.

Last summer I ended up giving up my cup-a-day coffee habit and cut back to having it once per week as a treat. However, in the past few months, my coffee habit has returned and I now have a cup almost every morning. I try to alternate with green tea, but 80% of the time it’s a coffee morning. Honestly, I like the little added pick-me-up and it’s nice to sit at work in the morning with a warm cup. Well it used to be. Now I’m all about the iced coffee. No more hot beverages for this girl. The coolness of the iced coffee is definitely welcomed on a day where it’s 80F by 8:00am.

When it comes to iced coffees, however, not all are created equal. In fact, your best bet is to make your own at home so you can control the ingredients. I am definitely not a black coffee drinker and have always needed a little milk and sweetener to make it just right 🙂 My Keurig comes in handy, as it makes only one cup at a time, which is all I ever want. I make the coffee when I first get up in the morning (you could also make it the night before, but I always forget) and stick it in the fridge to chill. After breakfast, showering, and getting ready, I pour the coffee into my travel cup, along with some almond milk, vanilla extract, a tiny bit of sweetener, and ice cubes. Simple as that and you have an iced coffee to go!

Beware of ordering iced coffees from places because they are sometimes not only coffee poured over ice. For example, Starbucks automatically sweetens theirs, leaving you with a beverage that seems harmless, but actually has 20g of sugar!! So if you are going to swing through a Starbucks or other coffee shop, make sure to ask if their iced coffee is sweetened, or just order an UNSWEETENED iced coffee and sweeten it yourself so you can control the amount.

As for other cool drinks, there have been a lot of these being consumed…

So green it matches the grass in our yard!

I have a green smoothie almost every morning, but I’ve recently strayed from my usual. My new combo is even more refreshing and energizing than the original. The new smoothie contains:
1 frozen banana
1 to 1 1/2 cups fresh spinach
1 or 2 stalks of celery (depending on taste preference, 1 stalk is much more mild)
1/2 cup pineapple
1/4 cup pineapple juice
1/4 cup water
4-5 ice cubes

Place all ingredients, except ice, into a blender and blend until completely smooth. Depending on what type of blender you have, this may take a few minutes. Add ice and blend until all ice is chopped. Pour a glass and enjoy!

I can’t get over how refreshing this is. Don’t be alarmed by the spinach and celery, it really is pretty good. The banana and pineapple take over the flavor part and you end up with a bright green drink packed with nutrition! Many more of these will be consumed throughout the summer and I can’t wait to play around with different fruits. I’m thinking peaches and strawberries would also be good!

What’s your favorite green smoothie combination?

Back to lounging around and having a lovely, lazy Saturday! After waking up feeling a little less than stellar from having a few two many drinks last night, both of the above beverages were consumed this morning and we’ve been bumps on a log all day. But hey, that’s what weekends are for right 🙂

5 thoughts on “Cool Coffee and a New Green

    • Did you make it hot or iced? I always add a little sweetener in along with the almond milk. If you are making it hot, try heating up the milk slightly before you add it and try a little honey as well. If you are doing iced tea, then a tiny bit of organic cane sugar or stevia might be just what it needs!

  1. I just threw together a smoothie with about 2c of fresh kale, a ripe banana, a stalk of celery, some glugs of unsweetened soymilk and some grape juice to sweeten it up. Came out really good! My next experiment will be including some carrots, celery, garlic and ginger. And beets, if I can find some.

    I expect that I’ll try your recipe at some point; it sounds lovely. I’ll need to get some fresh pineapple. I’m not a fan of canned. ;-/

  2. Pingback: Tamale Pie « Trehops's Blog

Leave a Reply

