Boxing It Out


For a while now I have heard how great a workout boxing is, but have never actually tried a true boxing workout. I mean, yeah, I’ve kick-boxed with Billy Blanks and was a big fan of P90X’s Kenpo X workout, but I’ve never actually hit a bag. Until yesterday…

My boss and I have been talking about trying out Title Boxing Club for a while now and finally, after hearing so many good things, decided to give it a whirl. I was pretty apprehensive about going to the class, but so excited to try something new all at the same time. We decided to try the Muay Thai class they offered, but they also have kick-boxing, and regular boxing classes as well.

I can definitely say that the rumors are true. It was a fantastic workout. Boxing really does work every part of your body and it great for burning a ton of calories during a training session, toning arms and legs, and strengthening core muscles. I left dripping in sweat, but I felt great for the rest of the day! Aside from being a little bruised…

My shins were definitely not ready for that much contact with the heavy bag. It’s not required to fully kick into the bag, but I couldn’t help but put a little power behind it a few times. It’s definitely much more of a stress reliever to kick and punch, and actually make contact with something, rather than a kickboxing class where you throw air punches. However, my shins took a beating. I took pictures, but they weren’t pretty so I decided to spare you guys of the visual (you’re welcome). On that note, if any of you have any suggestions on how to make a bruise heal faster, that would be much appreciated. I’m going on vacation in a few days and really don’t want to be walking around looking like I was just attacked by Nancy Kerrigan.

Anywho…if you are looking to mix up your workouts a little, I would definitely recommend trying a boxing workout. It’s great for increasing strength, speed, agility, endurance, and is not only a physical workout, but is great for increasing mental awareness too! I left the class feeling energized and de-stressed. Don’t worry about the class being filled with hardcore guys, the place I go to actually has mostly female members, which makes it much less intimidating. Check into clubs near you to try out a class! Make sure the trainers are experienced and credible and make sure to wrap your wrists right. Improper wrapping can result in injury so have a trainer do it for you the first few times.

Bruises aside, I will definitely be going back to try out some of the other classes. I may be hooked on a new workout 🙂

Leave a Reply

