Time Management

Have you missed me?

My blogging has recently come to a halt (obviously). Don’t worry, it was a temporary separation, not a break up. Anyway, I could sit here and list various excuses as to why Trehops has become the ghost of blogs past. No time, lost motivation, broken camera, etc, etc, have let me stray from my daily posts. However, I’m not really sure why I have let something I thoroughly enjoy doing, and find passion in, go by the wayside.

My previous job allowed me to work from home the majority of the time so finding opportunity, and having the flexibility, to keep up with my blog was much easier. Currently I am working away from home, odd hours, and many times, very long days. I’ve become frustrated and feel that I no longer have the time to keep up with my own life. I feel like I am neglecting my family, my social life, and my personal interests. So I have now decided to look towards improving my time management skills. I know that I can either get up earlier and schedule myself time to blog first thing in the morning, or I can do it when I get home at night. I generally try to get up and workout before going in to work so waking up earlier isn’t that appealing, but either is waiting until I get home, which is sometimes around 9pm. I also know that not blogging is not an option anymore. It’s a part of who I am and is a nice break to my day; an outlet for any stresses, frustrations, or moments of happiness.

I’m looking to you for a little motivation as well. One of the best things about blogging is hearing from my readers. Call me out if you don’t hear from me for a day or two! There are so many days when I think to myself, “I should blog about that”, but then the post goes unwritten. The point is, we all face busy schedules and stressful times, but giving up things that bring us fulfillment isn’t going to help, and in fact will bring about more stress (the vicious cycle).

Priorities were made today and blogging is definitely one of them, so you should begin to hear from me on a more regular basis again. Good thing too, because we have so much to catch up on! Starting with the vacation I just returned from! I’ll begin the recap on it tomorrow, but unfortunately there aren’t any pictures from the trip 😦 My camera broke on the second day and I have been so upset that I didn’t get to capture any of the wonderful moments, especially the one involving a shark! Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “Time Management

  1. Welcome back!

    And go you for making some efforts towards time management. I think that most of us could benefit from that!

    You said that you’d be glad to hear from your readers. Ok, I have a time-management trick that works for me and one that I want to try.

    Works for me:

    Break down large projects into bite-sized pieces and do one per day. Only one. But schedule time every day to do it until it’s done. This works for me because I tend to get bored or burnt-out on projects after a while. This method keeps stuff moving forwards but doesn’t take up too much of my energy on a given day. For best results, have no more than 2 or 3 projects going at any one time.

    What I want to try:

    Prioritizing the most important task of the day to be done first. It sounds easy but often I put off the more important stuff. I don’t know why; maybe because I hate the pressure. But I know that something important feels really good when it’s done.

    What I need to stop doing:

    Putting lots of tasks on a given todo list with the intent of just getting through as many as possible. This has the result of never feeling accomplished or ‘done’ because I never get to the end of the day’s list. I need to assign a few tasks per day and make it a workable amount of stuff. And stop when I’m done. And then go off and do something fun as a reward.

    Wish me luck! And I wish you the same!
    Lori

  2. Yayyyy!!! So excited you’re back, Trace! I’ve really missed keeping up to speed on your life, cooking, fitness tips, etc. The blogging world just wasn’t the same without your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

