Vacation Recap

image
I absolutely love the beach 🙂 Why do I live so far away from it?

Like last year, we headed down to South Carolina again! This time we stayed in the Isle of Palms, which is just outside Charleston (maybe my most favorite city). Vacation comes around just once a year and I generally count down the days until it arrives. This year it was definitely a much needed break (although I’m sure I could say that every year 😉 ). Isle of Palms was magnificent! Slightly different from Seabrook or Kiawah, in that there seemed to be more people and it seemed a bit more touristy. Each place has its own perks so it really is hard for me to say which is my favorite. Honestly, give me a sandy beach and some sunshine and I’m good to go. I think the Zac Brown Band said it best…

“I got my toes in the water, ass in the sand,
Not a worry in the world, a cold beer in my hand.
Life is good today, life is good today. :)”

Sorry for all you non-country music fans, but I had to do it. Anyway, with our rented house across the street from the beach, this was pretty much my life for seven days, and life was definitely good. In fact, many mornings I found it hard to sleep in and couldn’t wait to get over to the beach to play in the sand and surf and lounge in the sunshine. I even surprised myself by getting up four of the mornings and heading the beach early for a run and workout! I am now sold on the fact that my motivation to workout would rise exponentially if I could do it on a beach everyday. I’ll have to ponder this concept a little more… Also stay tuned for another post on the breakdown of my beach workouts and how I managed to get in a solid strength workout with no weights or bands!

Back to the recap..
One very cool thing we did while in SC was charter a fishing boat! Sorry to all the true vegans out there who are probably criticizing the fact that I went fishing, but it was so much fun. Four hours hanging out on a boat, the relaxing capabilities of fishing, staring out at the water and enjoying the clear, blue skies, will make anyone a fan. It was also very cool to be able to keep some of the fish we caught and cook them for dinner that evening. Talk about eating locally! Ok, as a vegetarian this weirds me out a little, but the fish tacos were pretty darn good 🙂 If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend getting a guide and doing this. Our guide was so laid back and fun, but definitely knew a lot about fishing too. We even caught sharks! I’m being serious, and let me tell you, reeling in a three foot shark is not joke. Those babies are tough! Totally worth it and sooo bummed about my camera issue and that no pics survived the camera crash 😦

Since this post is getting long, I’m going to save the rest of the recap for tomorrow. I have some great restaurants and shopping to tell you guys about! See you then!

Leave a Reply

