Vacation Hangover


source
Has anyone else experienced this? You feel motivated and inspired to work out and maintain a healthy lifestyle before you go on a vacation, but then find it extremely hard to summon even an ounce of motivation when you return? This has been my story for the past two weeks. I’ve been barely able to force myself into a few workouts here and there and have been craving junk food like crazy! I think I ate my weight in tortilla chips every day over the holiday weekend. Having my hormones working against me right now doesn’t help either(girls, you know what I mean)….

Whatever the cause, it has been a rough two weeks trying to get myself back into the swing of things and return to the hustle and bustle of my “normal” life. I’m determined to break out of this little funk, however, and get myself on track this week. The decadent meals (that someone else cooked for me), the lazy days in the sun, and the glass of wine that accompanied lunch most days are now in the past and the holiday weekend is behind us. Now it’s time to focus on eating a little healthier again, because I feel so much better when I do!

I thought I would share a few of my tips toward getting yourself back on track and refocused on healthy living in case any of you experience holiday/vacation hangovers or just need a fresh start this summer.

*Go grocery shopping. If you stock up on fruits, veggies, healthy grains, and other healthy foods, it will be much easier to plan meals throughout the week. With so much great food on hand you’ll also be less tempted to turn to the takeout menu.

*Pre-make meals before the week starts. If you have time on the weekend or in the beginning of the week, I highly recommend pre-making some things to make choosing healthy meals even easier. This past weekend I took some time and made a large batch of homemade vegetable barley soup to pack in my lunches this week. Making up a batch of brown rice, quinoa, or barley makes adding healthy grains to any meal a cinch. You could also make up a healthy pasta dish, a large salad (don’t put the dressing on it until you are ready to eat it though), or black bean burgers for easy grab-and-go meals. Since I eat many of my meals away from home, this method has saved me so much time!

*Go green! When trying to get back on track from a period of not-so-healthy behaviors, I definitely turn to green smoothies to help me out. Whether it’s a refreshing blend of spinach, celery, pineapple, and banana, or a creamy concoction of almond milk, spinach, and frozen banana, it helps set my day on the right, and healthy, foot.

*Drink Water. Make sure you are getting enough water every day. Shoot for 10 glasses per day in order to stay hydrated and energized. Upping your water intake will also help flush out toxins and excess salt that may have been consumed.

*Get some exercise. It can sometimes be the hardest thing to do on days when you are not feeling motivated, but you will feel so much better if you move your body. The hardest part is getting started. A trick I like to use is to tell yourself you are only going to workout for 10 minutes. Most of the time you’ll end up going longer once you’ve started!

If anyone else has any other ideas for getting back on track, let me know! Hope these tips help and I’ll keep you posted on how I’m doing as the week continues 🙂

2 thoughts on “Vacation Hangover

Leave a Reply

