Working out while traveling


Sticking to your workout routine while traveling or on vacation can generally be pretty tough. In general, I try to make it a goal to workout half of the days I am away. It is vacation after all, so stressing about working out is the last thing I want. For some people, traveling means taking a vacation from their normal life, exercise included. This is completely fine and sometimes rest is just what your body needs. However, I know myself. I know that if I were to go a full seven or eight days without exercising, my mood and body would not be happy. For me, doing something physical increases my energy and focus, elevates my mood, and keeps my body functioning the way it should. I’ve come to notice that I get foggy headed, feel sluggish, and begin to have digestive issues when I’m not exercising on a regular basis. Now this could also be correlated to the fact that my eating habits also worsen when I stop working out, but all the more reason to keep my body moving. The important point here is to know yourself and be in tune with your body.

It’s also important to know the area you are visiting when trying to plan for workouts. Will you be on a beach? In a hotel or resort? Is there a fitness facility where you will be staying? Is the area conducive to walking, running, or biking? Doing a little research ahead of time can help you feel better about accomplishing a few good workouts on your trip. During my most recent vacation, I planned for four workouts out of the eight days I would be traveling and I knew I would have a beach at my disposal. To me, there’s nothing better than a workout on the beach. Like I said in a previous post, I’m pretty sure I would be 100% more motivated to be active on a daily basis if I lived beach side šŸ™‚

I decided to take my workout planning one step further this time and actually write out my own beach workout! I knew I wanted to get a few strength-type workouts in, but wouldn’t have weights to work with so I developed a body weight routine that turned out to be a pretty good workout. In fact this is one that I will definitely continue to use at home even! In case any of you are traveling without workout equipment or just need a new circuit to throw into your normal routine, here’s the breakdown of my vacation, body weight workout.

Vacation No-Weight, but Body Weight, Workout
Warm Up:
Jumping Jacks (30 seconds)
Mountain Climbers (30 seconds)
High Knees (30 seconds)
Speed Skaters (30 seconds)
*Repeat the four exercises, starting with jumping jacks again

Workout:
Burpees (15)
Sumo Squat with side kick (10 kicks per side)
Pendulums (30) ( Get into the pike position with your hips pointing up towards the ceiling and your back straight. Extend your left leg out to the side as high as you can. Keep your right leg slightly bend and the heel off of the ground so that you are standing on the ball of your right foot. Jump and switch legs keeping your abs tight and engaged. Each jump counts as 1 rep.)
Triceps Dips (15)(Get into a crab position and slowly bend your arms, lowering yourself until you are right above the ground, straighten arms to push back to starting position. Can also raise one leg to increase intensity)
Pike Pushups (12)
Triceps Dips (15)
Pike Pushups (12)
Jump Lunges (20)
Push Up with Side Plank (10-12)
Mountain Climbers (30 seconds)
Lying triceps extension (15 each side)(Lay on your left side with your legs out straight. Wrap left arm around the front of you, placing left hand on right shoulder. Place right palm on the ground,in front of chest with elbow bent. Push up to straighten right arm, lower, and repeat. You should feel this in the back of your arms)
Plank Ups (18)
Speed Skaters (30 seconds)
Squat Jumps (20)
Reptile Plank (20) (Start in a plank position and then bring your left knee towards your left elbow bending slightly in your waist. Repeat with right leg and alternate legs each rep)
Mason Twists (20) (feet lifted off ground)
V-ups or One-legged V-Ups (20)(Lay on your back with arms extended over head. Lift arms and legs together, arms reaching toward toes, to sit up in a V position)
Superman-Banana (Lie on your stomach, extend arms in front of you and lift upper body and legs off the ground.Hold superman position for 5 seconds, flip over and hold banana (arms extended overhead and arms and legs lifted off ground) for 5 seconds – this counts as one rep. Repeat 10 times)

Cool Down:
Make sure to cool down your muscles and stretch really well.

It looks like a long list of exercises, but honestly it goes by pretty quickly. Try doing the exercises with little or no rest in between to keep your heart rate up and get a great toning workout! I completed this workout on two of the days and ran for a half hour on my other two workout days. My running days included a two mile run, followed by a mile of walking and sprinting intervals. Four workouts, all around 30 minutes each. I kept them around a half hour because I didn’t want my workouts taking up too much of my time, but they definitely packed a punch. Not bad for vacation, right?

Let me know if you have any questions about the workout. I would also love to hear your thoughts if you decide to try it out!

Leave a Reply

