Walking away from running


You may remember a while back when I stated that I was taking a break from running, even though I was in the midst of training for a half marathon. Due to knee issues, I decided it was best to give my body the rest that it was telling me it needed. Being a runner, and anyone who runs will back me up on this I’m sure, it’s extremely hard to get out of that running-for-exercise mentality. Especially during the summer months, it’s so easy, and habit-forming, to lace up my shoes and go out for run. Running became my outlet, a way to burn off stress, clear my head and get in some good cardio. When I forced myself to take a hiatus, I found myself at a loss. I then had to turn to new avenues, ones I was not used to, for exercise. Another obstacle I faced was having to utilize a gym more often. I’m honestly not a huge fan of gyms. For me, the thought of having to plan what I’m going to where to work in advance, pack a bag, get in my car, drive to the gym, work out, shower and get ready in a locker room, then head off to work, is not the most appealing option. Especially when for so long I have been able to do my main form of exercise anywhere. I could wake up, put my shoes on, and go out for a run and be back home in half the time it would take me to workout in a gym. Plus showering at home is sooo much nicer.

With running absolutely out of the question, however, I had to suck it up and give the gym a chance. And you know what? It actually hasn’t been too bad! Because I’m not running, I have discovered other workouts that I really enjoy. For one, I’ve been going to spinning once a week. I tried a spinning class a long time ago and just couldn’t get into it. It wasn’t anywhere near the same feeling that I got from running. Well, I’m glad I decided to give it another shot. I now really look forward to my once a week class 🙂

Another avenue I have tried, love, and have spoken about before is boxing! I also take one of these classes once per week and can’t wait to get in there every time. It’s such a tough class, but the instructors at Title Boxing Club are great and I always leave the gym a sweaty mess and feeling good. I love this feeling. During the class I may be cursing the teacher under my breath a few times, but afterwards I’m so much less stressed and feel energized and happy. I definitely recommend this workout to everyone.

Besides spinning once a week, boxing once a week, and my strength workouts 2-3 times per week, I’ve learned to enjoy slower forms of exercise as well. I now cherish my morning walks with Cooper that much more. We head out first thing in the morning together and walk for about 35 minutes. It’s not a heart-pumping, sweat-inducing workout, but it’s so calming, which is just as good for you as breaking a sweat. I take this time each morning to think about the day ahead, to breathe, and to take in the time with my pup.

Not being able to run still bothers me from time to time, but trying out hip hop, hot yoga, spinning, boxing, and zumba have been fun! In fact, I even tried out an Insanity workout yesterday. Let me just say that the name is very fitting. It’s madness! I give props to those of you who are doing this craziness on a regular basis. Shaun T kicked my butt!

As far as the knee issues go, I’m going to get it looked at so I’ll keep you updated on what the doc says. Hopefully it’s nothing too serious and can be remedied fairly easily. In the meantime I’ll be spinning it out, boxing it out, and walking it out!

What’s your favorite form of exercise?

Leave a Reply

