Gender Roles


This morning began with a jolt. Around 5:00 a.m. Cooper decided to begin barking ferociously at a noise that must have startled him. This led to Chris hopping out of bed to investigate the situation. After, fortunately, not finding anything, or anyone, outside that would have sparked the sudden barking, it was back to bed. However, by this point I was wide awake and unable to go back to sleep. Knowing that I only had about an hour before my alarm went off didn’t help the matter. I eventually rolled out of bed at 6:15 a.m. to get the day started.

Cooper and I headed out the door for our half hour morning walk around the park, then I returned home to begin my own little workout. I wasn’t that into my workout this morning and decided to take it a bit easy due to soreness. Remember me mentioning that I tried out an Insanity workout on Saturday? Well, I’m still sore!! My calves killed me all day yesterday and were still hurting this morning so I knew any workout that involved calf work or jumping would not be happening. So, in favor of skipping a strength work all-together today, I hopped on the treadmill to do a little more walking, with plans of lots of stretching when I was done. However, during my walk I changed my mind and hopped off after 15 minutes to complete a strength routine (calves not included).

Today’s workout looked like this: (refer to this workout for an explanation of some of the exercises)
35 minute leisurely walk with Cooper
15 minute treadmill walk (4.0 mph, incline 3)
Push ups – 15 reps
Sumo squat with side kick – 20 reps, holding 10 lb dumbbells
Superset:
1-legged bicep curls (balance on one leg while completing bicep curls) – 12 reps, 10 lb dumbbells
1-legged shoulder press (switch legs from bicep curls) – 12 reps, 10 lb dumbbells
*Repeat
Reverse lunge with front kick – 20 reps, alternating legs
Superset:
Triceps dips on stability ball – 15 reps
Dead lifts – hold 10 lb dumbbells
*Repeat
Plank Ups
Lying triceps extensions – 15 per side
Jump lunges – 20 reps
Reptile plank – 10 per side
V-ups – 20
Bicycle twists – 20 slow, 20 fast (count each time you twist)

It turned out to be a decent workout, even though I didn’t push myself as hard as I normally do.

After a quick shower it was smoothie time! If you couldn’t tell, I love post workout smoothies 🙂

Look at that green! This is actually a new protein green smoothie that I’ll talk about tomorrow.

Today I wanted to bring up a different issue. I normally wouldn’t bring up relationship issues on here, but I thought others might be dealing with this issue too.

This goes out to any couples out there. Actually single people can definitely chime in too. I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you would see your relationship going. How does everyone feel about stereotyped gender roles in a relationship and household responsibilities? I find that Chris and I have, for whatever reason, taken on living by these supposed boy vs. girl roles in the household. I understand that way back in the day men went out and worked and hunted while the women stayed at home full time, caring for the house and children. However, those days are long in the past and have been for quite some time. So why is it that many couples find themselves still living this way, even though the woman in the relationship is working just like the man is? Why is it assumed that women are now going to work full time and still attain the responsibility of doing all the cooking, cleaning, laundry, taking care of the kids, grocery shopping, etc, etc, etc?

I’m just curious as to how others go about divvying up household responsibilities and if you structure your relationship by the stereotypes as well. I really, really would love to hear all of your thoughts on this topic as I’m sure I’m not the only one dealing with this issue in a relationship.

Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Gender Roles

  1. I think that a good woman has no problem fulfilling her roles. I love to cook and clean, heck even laundry can be a nice change of pace. Believe me it beats the hell out of yard work and other stuff my man has to do. I get so tired of women bringing up the traditional roles argument sometime I think it is the idea rather than the task at hand that bothers them. Wake up, do what you would like to do, see the world the way you want to see it not some 1960’s fem-movement bs!

    -just my humble opinion

  2. I can definitely attest to disliking traditional/expected gender roles! While there is no yard in sight to maintain at our city condo, I still find myself doing all the cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, and the most dreaded in my book: laundry. Cooking and grocery shopping I love even when I’m super busy with work but the other two I always feel like a burden. I can’t totally fault my other half (whom I adore) because he will sporadically pitch in; however, I feel the weight of the responsibility rests with me and it becomes too heavy to carry at times. I consider myself not just a good woman, but a great woman and I feel no shame in admitting it can be tough to feel the need to fulfill the duties of so many roles. We’ll have to talk about this more during our lunch on Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

