Tamale Pie

Apparently summer is in full force. It has been sweltering here in Cbus! I’m all for sunshine and a little warmth, but having a heat index of 115F, I am not. So, naturally, that’s why you have been seeing a ton of smoothies recently. Yesterday and today, however, I switched back to more of a green juice to start my day and refresh after working out.
image
image
Similar to this one, I tossed a combination of 1/2 cup frozen pineapple, 2 celery stalks, and 1 heaping cup fresh spinach into a blender with water and a pinch of sweetener. So energizing! Also, the perfect accompaniment to my Ezekial toast with almond butter 🙂

Really the highlight of this post is what I had for dinner last night. You may have heard the buzz about Sarah’s (Mama Pea) Tempeh Tamale Pie. Well, I finally jumped on board and decided to give it a try for myself. I’m always looking for new ways to cook tempeh, and who doesn’t love a comforting one pan meal? Ok, actually it took a skillet, a bowl, and a baking dish, but you can have those cleaned up while the meal is cooking in its one dish 🙂

If you have heard the buzz and have been wondering about trying this, or if this is the first time you are hearing about it, I urge you to make this for yourself. This dish is so simple and comes together so quickly and easily, that you’ll wonder why you haven’t tried anything like it before. It’s filling, healthy, and so, so good. A comfort meal that won’t bulk you up while you’re trying to stay in Summer shape. I will definitely be making this meal again, especially during the cooler Fall and Winter months. Keep the side dish simple by pairing the Tamale Pie with a salad or steamed vegetable.

You can check out the recipe over at Mama Pea’s blog!

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

