Vegan to Vegetarian


I have gone back and forth on whether I wanted to write this post or not, for fear that others may criticize or judge. However, I also figured that there may be many others who are in the same boat I am, so here it goes…

About a month ago, I decided to switch from vegan to vegetarian. Originally (1.5 years ago), my decision to go from vegetarian to vegan was due to the fact that I felt like I was cheating. I thought, if I’m going to do it, I’m going to do it all the way. But, what I’ve realized is, it doesn’t have to be an all or nothing decision. Yes, due to ethical reasons, I still will not consume any meat. That is something I will always stand by. However, I think deciding your nutritional needs and what your diet looks like is a personal decision. Every body is different and requires different amounts of nutrients. For me, even though I was getting a ton of protein through veggies, bean, grains, tofu, etc., I felt like it maybe wasn’t enough. So in order to add more to my diet, I began eating Greek yogurt a couple of times a week as a snack. It’s easy for me to take to work and fills me up between meals. I stick to plain, non-fat most of time and add a tiny amount of honey or fruit to it. I try to avoid a lot of the flavored yogurts as they are usually loaded with unnecessary sugars. For me, this works.

As far as other items that have been added back into my diet, there really isn’t that many. I will eat seafood when dining out, however, I don’t buy it and cook it at home. Cheese is another item that is occasionally consumed, but it’s not that healthy so I try to stay away from it for the most part. I also still continue to buy Daiya vegan cheese when I do feel like having a meal with cheese. Eggs, milk, and meat, however, will continue to remain unconsumed items for me. I still opt for tofu, almond milk, and mostly vegan meals. I have just found that adding a little Greek yogurt, fish, and the occasional cheese or froyo splurge made me feel better. I realize this isn’t a huge change to what I was doing before, but I just didn’t want to begin posting about eating yogurt or other items when I had previously claimed to be vegan.

The important thing to any way of eating is to make it work for you and your body. Knowing that I still eat mostly vegan makes me feel good about what I am doing for my body and the environment.

I wanted to share this decision to return to vegetarian, but mostly vegan, because I’m sure there are many of you who have tossed around the idea of becoming vegetarian, but thought it would be too hard. Try it out a few days, or meals, a week. Even adding a couple full days of vegan eating to your weekly routine can make an impact on the environment.

Nothing will benefit human health and increase chances for survival of life on Earth as much as the evolution to a vegetarian diet. ~Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

