Serenity Now

Three days without blogging, ahhhh!! Slacking..

It was definitely worth taking the time away from the blog this weekend though and spending the time with family and friends.

Friday I left work with excitement to get dressed up for a night out. Chris’s company has a convention every year with all employees and vendors. They put on quite the party and I get an excuse to dress up. Thanks to Chris’s parents, I had a new dress to wear! They surprised me with it after I had spotted it on one of our shopping trips in Charleston. Thanks Barb and Shawn ๐Ÿ™‚

Until I get pictures back from the photographer that evening, here’s a pic of what the dress looks like..

As for Saturday, there was another party I had to attend. My sister-in-law planned a surprise 30th birthday party for my brother so I headed up to Cleveland to celebrate with him. It was so great to spend time with family and friends that I haven’t seen in a while.

Ok, so let’s back track a little. Last week’s goal was to cut processed sugar from my diet and stick to naturally occurring sweeteners such as fruit, honey, agave, or maple syrup. I have to say, it went really well! Within two days I felt better and more energized. It’s amazing what an effect sugar has on me, both mentally and physically. I will admit, however, that I didn’t last the entire week. Saturday, I definitely downed a rice crispy treat and a small piece of cake at my brother’s party. That’s life though. The treats were delish and I gave myself an imaginary pat on the back for not heading back over a second time to load up on a second round of treats. All in moderation ๐Ÿ˜‰

As far as this week goes, I’ve decided that my goal would be yoga-based. In order to combat stress, which I feel is starting to effect me physically in the form of digestive issues, I am going to increase my weekly yoga session to three sessions this week. Hopefully by incorporating more yoga, breathing, and meditation, I will find a calmness in both mind and body.

When setting this goal, I couldn’t help but think of a Seinfeld episode. “Serenity now!”

Leave a Reply

