Grunting and Food


Work, deadlines, stress, busyness, life, etc. has been preventing me from blogging the past couple of days. But have no fear, I’m back!

However, for a Friday, which is usually a happy day for me, it’s not starting out so well. With only a few hours of sleep last night, I awoke to the sound of my alarm blaring. As I hit snooze, I pulled the covers over my head and wished for a little more shut-eye. After what seemed like 30 seconds, the alarm was blaring again and I knew that I had to drag myself out of bed. Normally, when I’m lacking sleep, I will let myself forgo a workout in order to rest, however, life has been getting in the way of my workouts this week, so I was really needing some sweat time. Off to the gym I went and plugged away on the elliptical, where I completed 30 minutes of intervals. I decided to round out my workout with 20 minutes of incline walking on the treadmill, however, once starting I realized that may not have been the best decision. I was quickly annoyed, as the woman next to me began moaning, grunting, and sort of yelling, as she ran. It was awkward and uncomfortable and instead of de-stressing on the treadmill, I felt myself tense up in an irritable state.

That was the longest 20 minutes ever…

I then headed to the shower to get ready for work only to realize that I forgot to bring shoes. Really?!

That’s when I knew today was going to be rough.
image

Now, settled in at work and rocking my locker room flip flops, I can only partially see due to ripping a contact. What is happening today???

I’m thinking a little wine therapy will definitely be needed this evening.

Until happy hour arrives, I decided to enjoy a leisurely breakfast courtesy of Starbucks. Not ideal as far as food goes, but I spent 15 minutes sitting outside sipping my coffee and eating my oatmeal. So far the best 15 minutes of my day (you see, I am capable of being slightly positive today 😉 ).
image

Lunch will be in the form of a randomly constructed meal. Green Giant steamed veggies and a Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger. Simple, effortless, and perfect for a day like today when effort may create disaster.


We all have these days when the stars don’t align for us. The important thing to remember is that they will pass. I’m trying my best to find humor in the crazy, to smile, and to know that better days are to come.

Leave a Reply

