TGM

Why hello Friday 🙂

I hope you have all had a wonderful week and I’m sure most of you cannot wait for the weekend. After a slow start to the week, I have begun to pick it up a bit during the past couple of days. Fitness included! Since my motivation was wavering a bit this week, I made sure to schedule workouts outside of the house to get myself moving. Most of the time I enjoy the convenience of being able to rock out a quick workout at home, however, when I’m lacking the inner strength to get it done, I turn to outside support to get some endorphins flowing. Spinning and Title Boxing Club have both been in the routine this week, as well as, a new workout today!

For those of you in Columbus, you may or may not have heard of the Tracey Gardner Method. If you haven’t, then you should. I have been hearing little snippets about her here and there, and since I’m always up for trying out new workouts, I thought I’d give it a shot. After registering online for this morning’s class (definitely register online as classes fill up quickly), I started reading a little more on her website to try to figure out exactly what I was in for. What I found was, it’s like hot yoga, but it’s not. Confused? So was I.

As I headed to the studio in New Albany (why way out there Tracey??), I started to get the new experience butterflies. Naturally, doubts filled my head as I wondered if I would be able to handle the class or not. Once reaching the studio, I knew this was going to be something great. The set up of the facility is very simple, but unique. With it’s darkened interior, soft lighting, and friendly staff, I wondered if I was getting a massage or a workout. It definitely has a spa-like feel to it, which is probably why Aveda provides all the products there. I decided on just paying for the drop-in class versus buying a package until I figured out if I was going to like it or not. The price is $12, plus and extra $3 if you use one of their yoga mats. Plus another $1-$2 if you forgot to bring water, like I did, and need to purchase some. Needless to say, it’s kinda pricey for a first time goer.

Jumping ahead, and this may be the endorphins talking, I think it may have been worth it.

As you enter the studio, you immediately feel the wall of heat hit you (105F!). Then I started to worry that I may be in over my head. However, as I squeezed into place (it was way crowded), and sat on my mat, I calmly took a breath and acclimated to the heat. Like Tracey says on her website, it’s not yoga. If you are a strict yogi, you may not like it. The workout does take on a yoga-ish style at times, but Tracey puts her own spin and technique into it. For an hour, you are in a dark, candle-lit room, with music blaring, and sweating your ass off. No joke, there wasn’t an inch on my body that wasn’t dripping with sweat. You’re not alone though. Every single person is right there with you, sweating profusely as you move from one exercise to the next. Mostly, you are tightening and contracting different muscles as you work on toning your entire body. The technique may be strange to get down at first, so I would recommend going a couple times before you decide if you like it or not. I, for one, am looking forward to going back. As sweaty as I was when I walked out of the studio, it was a completely different feeling than the sweaty post-run or cardio workout feeling. I felt…..good. Honestly, similar to hot yoga, TGM detoxifies your entire body as you breath through every movement.

Tips for first-timers:
*Bring lots of water. I downed a bottle of water during the class and wished I had more. I also drained a Lemon Vitamin Water Zero immediately after the class.
*Bring towels. You will definitely need a towel to put down over your mat, as well as one to wipe the sweat from your face occasionally.
*Come with an open mind. It will be awkward and unusual at first, but you’ll get the hang of it.
*Go at your own pace. The nice thing about the dark room, is that you don’t have to feel like people are watching you if you mess up. Do what you can and take breaks when needed.

Tracey Gardner may be on to something so I definitely recommend checking her out. In fact, she is having an open house tomorrow night at the studio. Food and drinks will be provided so stop on by, or check out a class and maybe I’ll see you there!

One thought on “TGM

  1. It was difficult to find your blog in google.
    You should create some hi page rank contextual backlinks in order to rank your website.
    I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual
    backlinks are the best type of backlinks. I know very
    useful tool that will help you to create unique,
    readable articles in minute, just type in google –
    laranita free content

Leave a Reply

