Oats are Back

image

Before I get to the topic of oats, let’s talk dinner. After a very long week, I arrived home from work yesterday ready for a relaxing night. Since Chris had other plans, I was on my own for the evening. This situation usually goes one of two ways. I either use this as an excuse not to cook, eat random dinners, or get take-out from somewhere that Chris doesn’t really like – or – open a bottle of wine, cook an elegant dinner for myself, and relish in the time to myself. Last night, it was the latter that took place.

After coming through the door and giving Cooper some love and attention, I immediately opened my newly-purchased bottle of red wine, put some music on, and got busy in the kitchen. What was on the menu, you’re wondering? Roasted eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes, served with herb goat cheese and multi-grain toasts. My own version of ratatouille. Hey, a girl’s gotta eat.
image

This dish was simple, yet offered a form of elegance, that usually stems from hours in the kitchen. Instead, within 30 minutes, I was enjoying this meal, sipping on my wine, and catching up on episodes of Glee. Yes, this was my Saturday night….and I enjoyed it 🙂

A quiet night in and a simple meal for one:

Roasted ratatouille salad with herb goat cheese and multi-grain toasts
Ingredients:
1 baby eggplant
1/2 medium to large zucchini
1 tomato
herb goat cheese
multi-grain french bread, sliced in 1/2 in. slices
olive oil
garlic powder
dried basil
dried oregano
pinch of salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Arrange sliced bread on baking sheet, spray both sides with olive oil spray, and bake for 10-12 minutes, flipping halfway through.
While bread is cooking, slice eggplant, zucchini, and tomato in 1/2 inch thick slices. Remove bread from oven, transfer to plate, and arrange sliced eggplant and zucchini on baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt, garlic powder, basil, and oregano. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping halfway through. After flipping veggies, add tomatoes to the pan to bake with the eggplant and zucchini for the remainder of the time.
Serve in layered effect, with goat cheese and sliced french bread. Bon Apetit!
image

Now, on to breakfast. Oats are back in a new form. I’ve seen Ashley make oat and buckwheat bakes fairly often and have been wanting to try them out. Recently, she made “Funfetti” oat bakes and I was sold. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find my sprinkles (a sign that my cupboards need reorganizing), so I switched up her recipe slightly and added cinnamon and blueberries to the mix. I also replaced the egg with a flax egg. I think next time I will try adding some mashed banana or up the apple sauce since I left the egg out. I think this caused it to be a little more dense than it was supposed to be. However, it was still pretty good. I topped the oat bake with a spread of almond butter and maple syrup.
image

This breakfast felt indulgent enough for a Sunday brunch, yet was healthy, full of fiber and other nutritional goodness, and left me satisfied without feeling gluttonous. Great way to start a Sunday 😀

Now, I’m off to do some cleaning around the house and head off to Title Boxing Club! I haven’t been there in a while so it’s sure to kick my butt today (which is already feeling a slight soreness from my workout yesterday).

2 thoughts on “Oats are Back

  1. I love making fancy meals just for myself for no reason.. and of course drinking wine. And that breakfast oat bake looks really good! It seems like it would be a really filling breakfast.

Leave a Reply

