Running Away


Sometimes you just need to run. Well, at least that’s how I feel. When I find myself dealing with a lot of stress, life changes, or other anxiety-inducing factors, I find that the only workout that temporarily relieves these feelings and clears my head, is running. Many people would say yoga provides the same effect, and I would sometimes agree, however, for me it’s running. I lace up my shoes and hit the pavement.

I’m no longer running for distance due to my past knee problems; I’m now running for me. (Side note: I’ve been running around 2.5 miles on a regular basis now and am pain free since purchasing new shoes!) I don’t need to go more than three miles to experience the endorphine-filled bliss that running provides. Since it was rainy this morning, I turned to the treadmill to try to calm my mind.

A workout may be the last thing you want to focus on when feeling stressed out, but it’s the best thing you can do for yourself. Whether it’s going for a long hike or walk, doing yoga, strength training, boxing, running, or biking, find what works for you and take some time for your self. Taking time to release some endorphins and sweat will help give you a new perspective on whatever may be troubling you.

Your problems may not be solved during this time, but you may come up with a few solutions that you would have otherwise missed due to the feeling of being overwhelmed.

Remember, life it full of setbacks. It’s how you handle those setbacks that determines success.

Leave a Reply

