Sun Salutations on Repeat

Hello, yoga. You are much more difficult than I envisioned.

As a person who works out regularly, I find myself greatly humbled when I step into a power yoga class. I mentioned before how sore I ended up being after my first class. Well, after this morning’s class, it’s likely that tomorrow will bring a similar feeling.

Today’s class consisted pretty much of sun salutations on repeat. My arms were burning by the time we were halfway through. The second half of the class I allowed myself to take a couple of breaks, grab a drink of water, and sit in child’s pose. The great thing about doing yoga is the opportunity to make it your own. You work at your own pace, and level, and continue to build. I definitely push myself in class, but I know I’m not strong enough yet to complete every single pose.

Most of the time I would feel frustrated, however, with this, I find that I absolutely love that I cannot do everything. I needed a new challenge and power yoga will definitely be providing me with one. I am excited to see my progress during this month!

After class, I was a sweaty mess and couldn’t wait to go home and whip up a smoothie. Mostly because I finally got my hands on this..
image

Naturally, a pumpkin pie smoothie was made with the addition of vanilla protein powder 🙂
image

As for other snacks, I balanced out my doughnut cravings yesterday with some whole grain goodness. I was in the mood to bake, but I wanted something that would be nutritious and bring some balance to my sugar high. So, I turned to Mama Pea, because she is great for that sort of thing, and tried out her Protein Trail Mix Cookies.
image

image

The result is a hearty, nutritional powerhouse treat. The chocolate chips add a touch of indulgence, but the oats, nuts, and seeds make them perfect for breakfast, or to beat an afternoon slump!
image

Speaking of which….I’m going to go grab one!

