When life hands me lemons, I drink wine and bake

It’s true. This week has been filled with obstacles that have kept me from a few workouts and have thrown a few kinks in my schedule. But that’s life right? Life is full of setbacks. Success is determined by how you handle those setbacks. Write that down.

How do I handle setbacks? I drink wine and bake 🙂
image

Ok, maybe not the healthiest way to deal with stress, but it works. And sometimes….it just feels good.

Normally, I would advise you to go for a walk, call up a friend, go do yoga, or something that doesn’t involve downing a ton of frosting and cupcakes. But, realistically, I know that sometimes a little sweetness will do just fine.

Whether it was work or other life happenings, I missed a few planned yoga classes and a Title Boxing class. Sorry Title Boxing, I’ve been neglecting you. Let me paint you a little picture of what I’m talking about. Yesterday, I woke up determined to have a positive day and to avoid obstacles that would interfere with me making the 5:00pm yoga class. I knew I needed it to sweat out stress and to make myself feel better about missing workouts the previous two days. The day was going along fine, I ended up getting out of work on time, and made it home without crazy traffic holding me up. I had just enough time to stop by the house, change my clothes, and let Cooper out before heading off to the class. Feeling pleased that things were actually going as planned, I opened the door to a nervous-acting puppy, whom I followed into the kitchen to find this….
image

That would be garbage all over the ground. At three and half years old we haven’t had many problems with him getting into things. “Why now??” is what I found myself shouting. So, needless to say, I missed the yoga class.

Guilty looking dog..
image

Yes, I could have cleaned up the mess then gone out for a run or completed a workout at home. However, next thing I knew, I had random ingredients out on the counter ready to mix up something Fall-like and delicious. And that’s what it turned out as 🙂

Fall Spice Cupcakes with Spiced Buttercream Frosting
makes 10 cupcakes

Ingredients (cupcakes):
1/3 cup pumpkin puree
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup coconut oil, softened
1/4 cup molasses
1 chia egg (1T chia seeds mixed with 3T water, let sit for a few minutes)
1 2/3 cup flour (I used half all-purpose and half whole wheat)
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 T pumpkin pie spice
pinch of salt

Directions (cupcakes):
1. Preheat oven to 350F and spray a cupcake pan with nonstick spray or line with cupcake papers.
2. Combine pumpkin, applesauce, sugar, coconut oil, molasses, and chia egg. Mix well.
3. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add wet mixture to dry and mix until combined.
4. Drop spoonfulls of cupcake mixture into the pan, filling each 3/4 of the way. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Let cool.

Ingredients (frosting):
1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 T pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp vanilla extract
almond milk (if necessary to thin out mixture)

Directions (frosting):
1. Cream the Earth Balance until light and fluffy.
2. Gradually add powdered sugar and continue mixing until combined well and a fluffy frosting forms.
3. Add pumpkin pie spice and vanilla and mix well. Add more powdered sugar or add almond milk to create the desired consistency. I pre-made my frosting while my cupcakes were baking and let it sit in the fridge, so my mixture was pretty thick, but worked really well.
image

The perfect cupcake for Fall 😀

