Bourbon

This post is all about bourbon. I never have been a fan of bourbon, but for Chris, it’s his drink of choice. So, for his birthday this year I decided my gift to him would be to take him on a weekend getaway along the bourbon trail!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, I would definitely look into it. Even if you are not a fan of drinking bourbon, it is still a lot of fun and very informative.

Before we get into the trip, let’s start with a bourbon-infused meal, shall we?

I chose to make Jessica’s bourbon chicken for Chris’s birthday dinner in order to prepare him for a weekend filled with the stuff. The bourbon glaze is amazing! I even used it on my vegan chicken (hello, Gardein) and it was delicious. Definitely try it out!
image

image

Now, on to the tour. Six distilleries, two days, let’s do it!

We actually only went to five of them, but we were told we didn’t miss much at the Wild Turkey distillery.

Woodford Reserve
image

image

image

image

image

image

Makers Mark
image

image

image

Jim Beam
image

image

image

image

image

We also went to Four Roses and Heaven Hill, but our time spent at those two was shorter and no pics were taken. It was difficult to chose a favorite distillery. They each had their goods and bads. I loved the look and feel of Woodford Reserve. The facility and the surrounding area was gorgeous, the tour was informative, and the bourbon balls are incredible. Yeah, that’s right. Bourbon Balls = Bourbon + chocolate, what’s not to like?

While we like Woodford’s classic appeal, I also really enjoyed the interactive part that Makers Mark offered. We were allowed to dip our hand into the sour mash to see what it was like and we also dipped our own bottles in wax!

Definitely a great experience and a fun weekend trip. Who knows, maybe I’ll start ordering bourbon now when I’m out 🙂

