The “collar of shame”

I hoped I would never have to put Cooper through this.
image

I feel incredibly bad, but we really had no other choice. If you remember a while back I posted about his allergies. This season has been unbearable for him. The medication definitely tamed them a bit, but as soon as he stopped taking it, they were back with a vengeance. His poor paws really haven’t had a chance to heal, as he has been continuously chewing on them. This week things worsened and not only was he chewing on his feet, but he was scratching at his neck and face quite a bit. Within the past two days he has ended up with an open cut on both his face and neck from scratching so hard. I figured that was enough, and felt horrible that he now had wounds due to the itching. So, we decided the only way to keep him from tearing himself apart was to get him one of these…
image

First off, I want to mention that we bought a pretty flexible one so it would be a bit more comfortable. He has adjusted to it, as most dogs do. However, it was part humorous and part heart-breaking to see him with it on for the first time. He walked into a lot of furniture and doorways. And I hate to say it, but seeing him perched out in the yard doing his business made me laugh a little.

I have gotten him more medication so I’m hoping it begins to work fairly quickly so I can take the “collar of shame” off of him. I’m sure you all will hear updates, especially if you follow me on Twitter, but for now I have to deal with this sad puppy dog face staring at me when I know he’s probably thinking, “What the hell did I ever do to deserve this?”
image

image

Leave a Reply

