Owned

It may be 40F outside, the frosty mornings may chill me to the bone, football games may be beginning to be played in snow; however, smoothies still own me.

I finally tried the Natural flavor of Sunwarrior’s Warrior Blend protein. After not having the best experience with the Natural flavor of their original protein, I was extremely hesitant about this one. Taking necessary precautions, I added flavorful fruits and extracts to the mix to try to ensure a satisfying result. A frozen banana, strawberries, and vanilla extract were added to the protein mix and almond milk. Honestly, after blending with ice, the smoothie turned out pretty well. I might even say I enjoyed it 😉

The Natural flavored Warrior Blend protein definitely takes on an earthier taste than the other flavors, but when combined with other ingredients, it’s not bad at all. I definitely prefer the Vanilla and Chocolate flavors, but Natural could have potential. I’m interested to try to bake with this one as I wouldn’t have to worry about it adding unwanted flavor to muffins, pancakes, or other baked goods.

As far as my regular smoothie habit goes though, I think I’ll be sticking to the Vanilla and Chocolate. The protein itself, no matter which flavor you go with, has some crazy good stats though. I definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market for a more natural and vegan protein source.

Another trial that happened this weekend was the making of my Vegan Fig Newton bars. Mostly because I’m obsessed with Trader Joe’s fig butter. However, wanting to change it up a bit (and the can of pumpkin calling my name), I decided to add this favorite Fall ingredient of mine.
image

image

I ended up substituting the butter in the recipe for pumpkin. I knew this would result in a fluffier, cakier cookie, but I went for it. The result was good, but something was slightly off. I’m not sure what it is, but I think I like the original recipe better. Definitely check it out. It’s a great cookie for Fall and a great alternative to the store-bought Fig Newtons.
image

