Detoxing

image

Detoxing can come in many forms. You can detox your system from processed foods, wheat, gluten, sugar or alcohol. For the month (yes, I said month) of January I chose the latter. I decided December 31st that I was not going to drink for a full month. Many people call me crazy.

It’s weird to watch people’s reactions to this news by the way. “Oh my god, are you pregnant?” “Why would you choose to not drink?” “So, you’re not going out anymore?” These are just some of the questions I have been getting asked. No, I am not pregnant. Goodness, people. Also, I will still be going out. I’ll just be the person that reminds everyone else the following day of the mistakes they made the night before 😉

Let me just say, so far this alcohol detox has been harder than I thought. I love wine…a lot. Especially when out to a nice dinner like I was a few nights ago. So, since I sat and watched everyone down glass after glass of what looked to be a very nice wine, I made myself feel better by downing a piece of wonderfully rich flourless chocolate cake for dessert. I left the restaurant content. I also woke up without a hangover, which I’m pretty sure the rest of my dinner party did not.

Naturally, this weekend was more productive than others. It’s amazing what you can get accomplished when you aren’t sleeping till noon and noshing on unhealthy hangover food.

If you do find yourself hungover on any given day, or are just looking for a quick and easy weeknight meal, I suggest trying this one out. It takes 15 minutes to whip together and will satisfy many a craving. Angela did well with this one. I added beans to up the protein and fiber and topped it off with Parmesan cheese (of course).
image

image

Creamy, avocado pasta. Try it!

It will be interesting to see how my body feels by the end of January. I look forward to this challenge. I may even get a few things done that I have been putting off for a while.

However, I am fighting a stomach bug right now. I blame it on the lack of alcohol…

