Supersetting and yoga controversy


Supersets have been discussed on my blog in the past. When it comes to strength training, I actually enjoy them. Using supersets in your weightlifting routine can help maximize your time, keep your heart rate up and give you an all-encompassing workout. I typically don’t enjoy spending hours working out, so any type of workout that provides a nice burn and benefits me in a short amount of time, is one that I’m always willing to try.

If you forget what it means to do a superset, don’t worry, I’ll review. When you complete a supersest, you simply pick two different exercises and complete them back to back. It’s beneficial to pick two exercises that work different muscle groups. Do a set of Exercise A, move right on to Exercise B, move back to a set of Exercise A, then finish out with another set of Exercise B. Superset 1 complete. Get it?

Here’s a quick 25 minute workout that will have your heart pumping and muscles burning by the end. Work at your own level and capacity. Use a weight that is challenging for you but still allows for correct form. I used 10lb dumbbells and completed sets of 15 reps of each exercise, but that does not mean that would be right for you. Find what is and build from there.

Superset 1:
Exercise A – 1-legged balancing bicep curls
Exercise B – Triceps dips on stability ball

Superset 2:
Exercise A – Squats with dumbells
Exercise B – Jump lunges

Superset 3:
Exercise A – This shoulder move (Thanks Ryan and Julie!)
Exercise B – 1-arm reverse fly

Superset 4:
Exercise A – V-ups
Exercise B – Plank twists

Repeat the superset sequence a second time except change Superset 2 to this:
Exercise A – Speed skaters
Exercise B – Squat jumps

*Make sure to warm up and cool down properly to prevent injury.

Now, moving on to the topic of yoga. Did anyone read the article in the NY Times? I know there are many yogis out there that are not too happy about the position taken in this article. In my opinion, I feel it can make people afraid of practicing yoga, which is the opposite of what yoga represents. Yoga is a place to let go of your fears and just be in the moment. It’s a place for calmness, for focus and spending time bettering yourself, both mentally and physically. With that being said, like any sport, workout or type of physical exertion, injury is always a risk. Since yoga has gained so much popularity, it has changed somewhat and many people don’t use if for what it is. Many people now jump into classes and push themselves without having a basic knowledge of the poses first. They try to compete with others in the class and that’s when injury is most likely to occur. Yoga isn’t a place for egos.

I’ve been lucky to have instructors that encourage students to have fun, try different poses, but most importantly, to work at their own level. If it hurts, back off. If you need a break, take one. The NY Times article was good in the sense that maybe it will make people more aware of this fact. What are your thoughts?

“For me, yoga is not just a workout – it’s about working on yourself.”

40 thoughts on “Supersetting and yoga controversy

  1. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover somebody
    that actually understands what they’re talking about on
    the web. You certainly realize how to bring an issue to
    light and make it important. A lot more people must check this out and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular given
    that you surely have the gift.

  2. 3 million dollar 1 year market and growing every year.
    The uses practically one hundred and fifty, 000 persons in the united states by itself.
    It might be secure to convey of which real racing 3 triche participate in an essential function throughout U .
    s . economics along with must not be taken for granted.

  3. It’s not at all common process to be able to affiliate economics together with jurassic park
    builder triche. Commonly, jurassic park builder triche 2014 could be thought to don’t have any affect on your
    financial status, but right now there are in fact a
    number of side effects. The particular sales sector connected with jurassic park
    builder triche android is truly a two.

  4. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

  5. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put
    in writing this blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now 😉

  6. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me
    an email.

  7. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? With thanks

  8. banana kong cheat carries a large part within U . s . Traditions.
    Some people can often be viewed taking part in things
    to do related to banana kong hack 2014. It is to a certain extent since individuals on most ages is usually concerned and also family members are
    generally introduced in concert by means of this.
    Generally an individual that shows their don’t like with
    regard to banana kong hack android could be thought to be a good outcast.

  9. whoah this blog is excellent i really like studying your articles.

    Stay up the great work! You recognize, lots of people are hunting around for
    this information, you can aid them greatly.

  10. Once this i – Phone app is installed on the phone, it starts to track down the mobile’s location even with the Smartphone
    offline. When he receives a message or phone call on his cell phone does he suddenly begin
    to ignore you. The Nokia 6600 Slide mobile phone
    comes with a large 2.

  11. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you
    personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating
    on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome website!

  12. Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon
    but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  13. I blog quite often and I really thank you for your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I opted in for your Feed too.

  14. Awesome issues here. I’m very happy to look
    your post. Thanks a lot and I am taking a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  15. I am in indoor, and outdoor, herb gardener and am always looking for ways to use my fresh herbs.
    Article Source: Power is the author of several nonfiction books and the novel “Over Time”
    Money, love and football, and of course a Green Bay Football Game you’ll always remember.
    Don’t put in an oven above the recommended temperature For
    best results using a scrub sponge designed for nonstick pans.

  16. A person necessarily help to make seriously articles I would
    state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular post amazing.
    Magnificent activity! how to hack facebook account

  17. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  18. No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, thus
    he/she desires to be available that in detail, thus
    that thing is maintained over here.

Leave a Reply

