New Smoothie Tricks

image

If you’re wondering, I still love smoothies. But, I’m sure you figured that. They’re a great way to make a quick breakfast or snack that helps you get a few servings of fruits and veggies in one glass. They’re so versatile and you can tailor them to make them fit in with your nutritional and lifestyle needs.

Got 3 minutes? Cool, let’s make smoothies πŸ™‚

I like to make sure that I have fruits, some greens, protein and, if I can, some healthy fats. If I haven’t talked to you about adding avocado to your smoothies, then I apologize. But, do it. I know, first spinach and now avocado. The spinach blends up smoothly, adds a nice green color to your smoothie, but without any spinach taste. The avocado doesn’t add any flavor either, however, it will give your smoothie a wonderfully creamy consistency.
image

Here is how today’s smoothie went down:
1/2 frozen banana (I usually use a full banana, but I was running low. Trader Joe’s was out of them!I definitely recommend freezing the banana though. It provides some thickness, as well as creaminess, to the smoothie. Make sure you peel it before you freeze it though!)
1/2 avocado (you can freeze this too if you wanted)
1 large handful of fresh spinach (about 1 cup)
1 scoop protein powder (I use Sunwarrior Vanilla Warrior Blend)
pinch of sweetener (I use Stevia)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
4-5 ice cubes

Place all ingredients, except for the ice, into the blender. Blend until smooth then add ice and continue blending until nice and creamy. Sometimes I add in a touch of cinnamon as well. Pour it into a cup and you’re ready to get on with your day! Easy peasy πŸ™‚

