Pinterest Caprese

image

Pinterest can change your life.

Okay, maybe an exaggeration, but you can find many a thing on that site. You can learn to fishtail your hair, decorate your home, put together an outfit, and find inspiration in fitness and food all on one website.

The latter is how this recipe came to be.

I love caprese salads. This one offers all that is wonderful about the tomato and cheese-based dinner companion, with a presentation fit for any dinner party.

I made this to pair with dinner this evening, however, I cannot wait until Summer to use fresh, juicy tomatoes. Tomatoes out of season just don’t have the right taste. Still, you can’t go wrong with fresh mozzarella; a craving that forced me to not wait until two seasons from now and make this tonight.

Pinterest Caprese

1 Tomato per person
Thinly sliced fresh mozzarella cheese
Fresh basil
olive oil
balsamic vinegar
salt and fresh ground pepper

On a diagonal, begin slicing the tomato from the right end, but do not slice completely through. The slices should stay connected from the bottom. Once you reach the center, repeat the diagonal slicing from the left end. Gently fan the sliced tomato, creating a slight opening for the mozzarella. Place a slice of mozzarella in between the slices of tomato. Add pieces of basil leaves in the sliced crevices. Drizzle lightly with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper. Serve as a meal starter, a side dish or a quick lunch.

I’ve also made a batch of this salad for lunches this week. I also thought I would have a vegan cornbread recipe for you. It was decent, but I didn’t deem it blog-worthy. In due time people, in due time.

I’m also 15 days into Dry January. Notice you have been hearing from me more lately 😉

