Mastering Procrastination

Sundays are for sleeping late, relaxing brunches and spending a lazy day with family, friends, or solo. Go ahead, spend the day by yourself, curled up in bed or on the couch watching the same movie twice because you are too lazy to get up and switch it to a new one. I won’t judge.

Sundays are not, however, for working. Can’t we just have a day to do absolutely nothing? Yes, we all work hard and deserve that. I, however, have been known to have to work on a Sunday. When a freelance deadline calls, it’s sometimes inevitable. Today was one of those “working” Sundays, but I chose to be in denial and distract myself as much as possible from the looming assignments.

If you are looking for a few good ways to distract yourself from any work you are supposed to be doing at any given time, here are my suggestions:

Sleep late.

Bathe the dog. I’m talking to you handsome.

That last one is more for my benefit that his. He despises baths and would live life like Pig Pen if he could.

Roast your own garlic. Even if for no other reason than to make your house smell amazing.
image

*Note: Roasting garlic is quite simple and just may be one of the most delicious things you will ever eat. Simply chop off the top of the garlic bulb, exposing the cloves slightly. Peel away a few outside layers of skin, but leave some to hold the bulb together and hold in the flavors while roasting. Place whole bulb on a piece of foil, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper. Roast in a 400F oven for 30-60 mins. The cooking time will depend on the size of the garlic bulb. I had a huge bulb that I was roasting so mine took around 50 mins to finish roasting. If the cloves are soft and a bit squishy, the garlic is golden and your entire house smells wonderful, then it’s probably done. My favorite way to eat roasted garlic is on freshly baked bread. You’ll be in heaven.

Work out. I often use Sunday as my rest day (obviously, by the concept of this post), however Chris decided he wanted to try out my PT skills and create a workout for him. This is fun for me, so of course I said yes. He wanted quick 15-20 minute workouts that he can do in the morning a few days per week. So we headed to the gym and I took him through the first one today. Since they are quick workouts I kept our heart rate up and kept us moving the whole time. It is definitely possible to get in a good workout in 15-20 mins, but you have to make the most of your time.

Bake homemade peanut butter cups. I use Alicia Silverstone’s recipe from her book, The Kind Diet. I cut the butter down though because it calls for, what I consider, an unnecessary amount. These are amazing and will offer the best distraction no matter what (or whom) you are trying to distract yourself from.
image

Lastly, I chose to be sitting here writing this post and drinking a homemade chai tea latte in order to continue the day of distractions. I think it’s suffice to say that I properly procrastinated today.
image

Now, about that assignment…

I’m going to need more peanut butter cups.
image

