The emotional toll of social media


Guess what? It’s National Peanut Butter Day!

But we’re not talking about that, we’re talking about social media today. Get ready.

Social media can be a fantastic tool when it comes to connecting with new friends or staying in touch with old ones. It can create a sense of closeness out of long distances and can bring families together.

I am quite fond of everything social media can bring to the table in regards to improving businesses, marketing, and the way you can share information with so many individuals all at one time.

It’s amazing how we continue to adapt to new platforms, networks, and the fact that we are inundated with so much information on a constant basis. What did we do just 10 years ago even? I mean, I’m pretty sure I receive all of my news updates from Twitter. It is now hard to miss out on anything that is going on in the world (or if someone had a relationship status change, let’s be real)

The fact that everything is so up-to-date, tweeted in the moment, and everyone lives their lives like an open book can bring ups and downs to the social media experience. For instance, when it comes to my personal usage of Facebook, I like it because I can remain somewhat current and connected to people that I cannot see or talk to on a regular basis. My newsfeed lately looks something like this:

*Baby announcement

*Engagement

*Wedding pictures

*Engagement

*Engagement

*Baby announcement

*Wedding pictures

However, the reason I also hate Facebook is because my newsfeed looks like this:

*Baby announcement

*Engagement

*Wedding pictures

*Engagement

*Engagement

*Baby announcement

*Wedding pictures

Don’t get me wrong, I am completely happy for all my friends who are experiencing these monumental occasions and I love ohhing and ahhhing at the pictures, it just 1) makes me feel old that I am at the age where all my friends are getting engaged, married, and having babies and 2) that I am at the age where all my friends are getting engage, married, and having babies, yet I am no where close to having any of those things happen in my life.

I’m being very repetitive in this post. That’s what Facebook can do to a person. One minute you’re as happy as you can be for someone, the next you are wallowing in self pity.

Wow, talk about your Debbie Downer today, huh? And on National Peanut Butter Day even!

Don’t worry, grab a spoon, or a peanut butter cup, and tomorrow I’ll be back with some zen words of wisdom. It’ll be all yoga and granola-like. You’ll love it.

