Burning the Candle at Both Ends


Does anyone even know what that saying means?

No one knows what it means, it’s provocative.

I type as I think. So sometimes I ramble.

I’m sleep deprived, can you tell?

In case you are wondering I actually just looked up the phrase out of curiosity.

Meaning

To live at a hectic pace.

Origin

Our current understanding of this phrase refers to a life that is lived frenetically and unsustainably – working or enjoying oneself late into the night only to begin again early the next day. It didn’t having that meaning when it was first coined in the 18th century. The both ends then weren’t the ends of the day but were a literal reference to both ends of a candle. Candles were useful and valuable and the notion of waste suggested by lighting both ends at once implied reckless waste. This thought may well have been accentuated by the fact that candles may only be lit at both ends when held horizontally, which would cause them to drip and burn out quickly.

Yep. Sounds about right.

I’ve decided to pile a lot onto my plate at the moment. It’ll be good in the long run. That’s what I continue to tell myself. In the meantime workouts keep going amiss and sleep is minimal. Life really only became this hectic about two weeks ago, so I’m adjusting. I know I can handle the workload, it’s just getting myself in a new routine that’s hard. I’m determined to take the weekend to finish up projects, try to sleep more than 5 hours per night and head into next week with vigor.

Remember how I said in my last post that we must push past our comfort zones in order to grow? That’s what is happening right now. Immediately we want to repel and run away from the hard, however getting through those times is what makes us stronger. Right now I don’t feel strong, I actually feel weak and fatigued, but this too will pass. We are all stronger than we think.

Until it does pass, my stress will be taken out during evening baking sessions. These were made (with chocolate chips this time – do it) and four were immediately consumed. *Long sigh*

