Looks like a nice Saturday, donut?

image

Now that we are four days into February, let’s revisit this little plan. I have made it through dry January and it’s spilling over into February. Not that I drink an excessive amount (I suppose that is subjective), but I wanted to give my body a little detox and a break from alcohol. The month of January flew by, but it definitely had its challenges. Early in the month we still had holiday parties to go to, followed by dinners with friends and family, happy hour invitations, and many stressful days that made me just want an effing glass of wine.

I made it though. I attended social functions and happy hours and sipped on my water. I also woke up the next morning feeling rested and ready to enjoy the day instead of wanting to sleep all day and not even having an ounce of motivation to do anything with my life. So, I suppose it was a good trade off. The first couple of weeks, which I thought would be the hardest, actually turned out to be my motivator to keep going. I felt more energized, clear minded, and motivated.

Weekends, for the most part, were more productive. Even after two weeks of being a sleep-deprived ball of stress, I woke up this morning and made these!
image

I have been wanting to make my own donuts for quite a while actually for a couple of reasons. 1) To make them baked and not fried. 2) To be able to control the ingredients to where I would feel better about eating them.

I’m really not a big donut fan anymore though. After not having one for years, I tried one and found it to be sickening sweet. Funny how as a kid, the only thing that got me out of bed on Saturday mornings was donuts. Tastes change, so even though others greatly enjoy the overly sweet, fried pieces of dough, I wanted to try it my way. So, naturally I immediately bought a donut pan and went to work in the kitchen.

These aren’t vegan. I used eggs and a traditional recipe for my first time baking them. Next time, maybe tomorrow, they’ll be vegan. I kept it basic and made a classic cake donut with chocolate icing and coconut.

Not too shabby for my first shot. Donuts are now my substitution for alcohol. I feel I may be needing a different type of detox soon.

Baked Cake Donuts with Chocolate Glaze
Ingredients:
2 cups flour (I used white whole wheat, but experimenting with flours is something I plan to do)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup organic cane sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup buttermilk (I made my own by combining 3/4c of almond milk with 1T of lemon juice)
2 Tbsp Earth Balance or margarine, melted

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Tbsp coconut oil
shredded coconut (optional)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425F and spray donut pans with cooking spray.
2. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside.
3. In a large bowl, lightly beat eggs, add in buttermilk, vanilla and Earth balance. Gradually add in the dry ingredients and stir just until combined.
4. Spoon, or pipe, batter into donut pan. Bake for 7-9 minutes, or until donuts spring back when touched. Let cool.
5. After donuts have cooled, make the chocolate glaze by combining chocolate chips and oil in a microwave safe bowl and heating in 30 second increments. Stir until smooth and creamy. Dip tops of donuts into chocolate, sprinkle with coconut or other toppings and let sit.
6. Serve with a hot cup of coffee or glass of milk and enjoy!
image

image

image

