Lessons of a spin class


Today I took my first spinning class in six months. It was brutal. However, for the past couple of weeks, I have let stress and other things control my life and my emotions. This past weekend, as I was downing these delicious beauties (not that there’s anything wrong with these, try them!), I realized that I had lost control. I was sleep-deprived, fatigued, stressed, and weak.

So, I vowed to take my life back this week. For me, that means fitness must take a priority. I feel my strongest when I am working out consistently. So, today’s spin class was hard. In fact, I hated every minute of it because it was hard. I felt weak and wanted to give up, but kept telling myself “you are stronger than you think”. The instructor kept yelling “push!” and “give me another half turn!”. *For those that are unfamiliar with spin classes, when the teacher yells something about a “turn” it means you are to turn a dial and increase your resistance. Naturally, with it comes the feeling that you want to dismount your bike and push the instructor off of theirs so they will stop yelling at you to make it harder.

The class continued, I kept pedaling along watching the time creep by, and I came to a crossroads. I could give up and walk out of class or I could take back control. I chose the latter. I “pushed”, I upped the resistance, at one moment I felt like my heart was going to explode, but something inside of me knew that I would make it through – and I will.

I walked out of room knowing that I gave it my all and that’s all we can really do in life (let’s be honest, this never really was about spinning).

My heart feels like it’s going to explode and my world feels like it’s crumbling, but I know that..

…I am stronger than I think.

