Peanut butter and PB2


I have been experimenting with PB2 recently. PB2 is a powdered peanut butter that is created by roasting the peanuts then pressing them to remove the fat and oil. So, that being said, it’s a way to enjoy peanut butter while consuming much less calories and fat. Two tablespoons of PB2 contains only 45 calories and 1 gram of fat. The protein content also drops, however, to 4 grams per serving.

Here are my two cents, take them for what they are. PB2 is kind of weird. It does not taste like regular peanut butter (and if you know me, you know that I have tasted many a peanut butter). First off, it’s a powder. So you have to mix a little water with it (1 tablespoon to 2 tablespoons of PB2) in order to reconstitute it. Second, off course it doesn’t taste right! They have removed the fat! Nuts are made of fat and oils, that’s what gives them their flavor. Keep in mind though, the fat found in nuts is not bad fat. Nuts contain monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats. Eating nuts is a good way to get your Omega-3s, which can help lower cholesterol, blood pressure, triglycerides and inflammation of the blood vessels. In other words, Omega-3s keep your heart healthy. Not to mention, healthy fats also help provide satiation to a meal and can also aid in weight loss. So, not all fat is created equal and we are far past the days of thinking we must consume low-fat and fat free everything.

In my opinion, I think I’ll keep eating regular peanut butter. You’ll be more satisfied by eating the real stuff versus trying to fake it (however, PB2 is actually made with real peanuts, so I do like that it’s not actually “fake”). Now, that being said, I have found ways to really enjoy the powdered stuff. I should also mention that PB2 comes in a chocolate form as well. This is the one I have been enjoying most recently.
image

For instance, PB2 is really good when added to smoothies or shakes. This is probably my favorite way I have found to use it. I really like adding peanut butter to my smoothies, but it definitely ups the calories in a smoothie pretty quickly. So, to get that nice peanut taste, PB2 does the trick quite nicely. We’ve been enjoying peanut butter/chocolate shakes as an evening snack quite a bit since discovering this. Recipe for shake includes vanilla protein powder (chocolate would be great, but I didn’t have any on hand), a frozen banana, unsweetened cocoa powder, chocolate PB2, almond milk, sweetener to taste, and ice. Voila! A chocolate “milkshake”!

I have also added the powdered peanut butter to oatmeal, oat bakes, and granola bars. What I have found is that I like the taste it gives when mixed into things. When it comes to eating peanut butter toast or crackers, I will always choose real peanut butter.

Have you tried PB2? What are your thoughts?

