Vegan Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

image

I can not say that I have even had cabbage rolls ever in my life. I had no idea what was involved, what they consisted of, or what they tasted like. For some reason, however, I have wanted them. And, of course, I wanted them vegan. Honestly I think it’s due to all the cabbage I have been seeing inside grocery stores lately. I get it, marketing people, St. Patty’s Day is coming and you want us to eat corned beef and cabbage. Sorry, I won’t be one of those people. However, I will try to stuff the green leaves with some sort of vegan meat alternative.

After searching around the world wide web for a bit, I came up with an interesting recipe. If you have ever eaten stuffed cabbage rolls, these probably don’t do them justice. Then again, I wouldn’t know. So I guess I’ll let you be the judge.

Here is what my version entailed:

Vegan Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
Ingredients:
1-2 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 cups chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
1/4 cup mixed herbs and spices (thyme, oregano, onion powder, salt, pepper)
2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1 cup ground almonds
6-8 cabbage leaves, rinsed
marinara sauce of choice

Directions:
1. Heat olive oil and garlic in a large pan. When garlic become fragrant, add mushrooms and saute until tender.
2. Add vegetable broth, nutritional yeast, and mixed herbs/spices and bring mixture to a simmer. Continue simmering mushrooms until most of the liquid is gone.
3. Transfer mushrooms to a food processor and pulse a few times. Add the ground almonds and pulse until mixture is well combined.
4. In the same pan you sauteed the mushrooms, pour marinara sauce and heat to a simmer.
5. Heat about 4 cups of water to a boil in a large stock pot. Place steamer basket in stock pot with 3-4 cabbage leaves at a time. Steam for 4-5 minutes or until tender enough to be rolled, but not too much to where they will rip. Continue steaming in two batches. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towels.
6. Lay a cabbage leaf flat. Spoon a couple tablespoons of the mushroom mixture onto leaf about one inch from the bottom. Fold in sides and begin rolling, similar to the way you would roll a burrito.
7. Lay filled cabbage rolls, seam down, into the simmering sauce. Cook for 30 minutes and serve immediately.

image

image

These cabbage rolls would be great atop mashed potatoes, rice, couscous or other grains. I chose to serve them up with homemade bread. Enjoy!

