20 somethings


I’ve been m.i.a. for a week. You’ve probably been stopping in to check if there’s anything new and you keep seeing my St. Patrick’s Day post. As a matter of fact, there is something new though! This girl got herself a new j.o.b. So,after getting over that “first day of school”, anxiety-inducing buildup leading up to my first day at the office, my week basically went something like this:

Work
Celebratory drinks and dinner
Sleep
Work
Celebratory drinks and dinner
Sleep
Work
Celebratory drinks and dinner
Sleep
Etc., etc. you get the picture.

This weekend was much needed to say the least. It’s interesting how often 20-somethings change jobs. I know I’m not alone due to seeing my friends follow similar paths. We leave college all bright-eyed and optimistic, hungry and desperate for that first gig only to find out that, well, it’s not all that we thought it would be. This is often coupled with the notion that our generation feels that we cannot possibly settle on a career until we’ve back-packed around Europe for a while (I wasn’t one of these people; however, that dream is still out there for me) However, we stick with it in hopes that we will leave the days of living on Ramen noodles behind us and become what society deems as responsible and successful. Truth is, it’s a rough world out there and most of the time what you spent years in college preparing yourself for doesn’t translate into the “real world”.

This scared me initially and made me feel like I was doing something wrong, like maybe I wasn’t cut out for the job world because I wasn’t happy. However, if you think about it, finding a job is a lot like dating. We go through a couple of not so thrilling “dates” (jobs) and we begin learning and building a list of things that we would like in a mate (career).

Take the time to build this list. Figure out your deal-breakers and stick to them. I’m a firm believer that this will pay off in the end. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

In the meantime, you know what they say,

“you’ve gotta kiss a lot of frogs”.

Leave a Reply

