Enjoy the detours

It’s a hard realization to see and accept that there is often no clear path in life. Life is full of twists and turns and detours, but that’s what gives life to our life. Imagine how boring the world, and the people for that matter, would be if everyone just followed one straight path in life. When we are thrown off course it forces us to take a different view and see ourselves from a different perspective.

Recently, life has thrown me off course. I’ve been forced along a detour due to, what I like to call, construction. However, we have to find the beauty in creating a new path. Forcing ourselves to adapt and change is what makes us stronger. We need not worry about the detours, as hard as they may seem to navigate at the time, because in the end that detour will take us right where we are meant to be.

Let it be known that I have to continuously remind myself of this. To not stress out, overanalyze and worry is no easy task for me. What I have come to learn; however, is that worrying and stressing doesn’t do anything for me and uses a lot of energy that could be focused on other areas of my life.

While watching Eat Pray Love recently I was reminded of a quote from the book that I love:

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select what clothes you’re gonna wear every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control. Drop everything else but that. Because if you can’t learn to master your thinking, you’re in deep trouble forever.”

 

