Summer Salad

I’ve been eating a lot of fruit. In fact, a lot may be an understatement. I can’t help it though, summer is all about fresh produce so my fridge has been stocked with various fruits, veggies and fresh herbs. It’s been fantastic and I can’t get enough of it. No other time of the year will you get to experience how sweet a cantaloupe can be or how a tomato is really supposed to taste.

So, needless to say, I’ve been taking full advantage of having an abundance of fresh foods around. Salads have never been so colorful, smoothies are happening left and right and vegetables are being eaten anyway I can find to cook them.

One of my favorite summer fruits; however, is watermelon. It’s the only time to eat it and when I do it brings about memories of summer cookouts and picnics with family and friends. Lucky for me, my roomie loves the juicy, red fruit as much as I do so we can sit and split a watermelon like it’s nothing.

Not only is it fantastic on its own, I also enjoy it as the highlight to a salad. Similar to this salad I have featured previously, I have been adding chopped watermelon atop a bed of spinach and creating a watermelon, tomato and feta salad that works as a great addition to any lunch or dinner.
image
Tomato, Spinach and Watermelon Salad

Ingredients:

Spinach

Chopped seedless watermelon

Grape tomatoes, halved

Feta Cheese

Fresh basil, chopped

olive oil

balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper

Directions:

I didn’t list quantities for ingredients because it depends on how many people you are serving. This salad should be made shortly before serving. Simply start with a bed of spinach and top it with watermelon, tomatoes, feta and basil. Drizzle lightly with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with a pinch of salt and fresh ground black pepper. Toss salad and adjust seasonings to taste.

One thought on “Summer Salad

  1. Pingback: Summer Salad – trehops.com

Comments are closed.