Summer Pizzas

image

We all know that I love summer for the bounty of fresh produce. We also know that I love to stuff vegetables with various fillings. Remember the peppers? And the patty pans? And the mushrooms?

Well, when I saw my friend Ashley post portabella pizzas on her blog, I knew I had to have these back in my life. They’re a delicious, healthy way to get your pizza fix and I don’t make them nearly enough. So, obviously an immediate trip to the grocery store ensued and soon I was enjoying these little mushroom pies while relaxing on my patio. Oh, summer nights how I love thee.

Portabella Pizzas

Ingredients:
Let your imagination come to life here. You can stick to classic pizza toppings or add some variety by using pesto instead of pizza sauce, goat cheese instead of mozzarella and sun dried tomatoes!

I stuck with a classic recipe and layered my portabellas with marinara sauce, spinach, fresh basil, garlic and mozzarella cheese. Classic, yes. Ordinary, no.
image

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Remove stems and gills from portabellas and wipe clean with damp paper towel or cloth. Place mushrooms on baking sheet and brush lightly with olive oil. Layer ingredients in the hollowed-out portion of the mushroom and bake in preheated oven for 10-15 minutes or until mushrooms are cooked and tender and cheese has melted to perfection.

Thanks to my friend Ash, who is a newlywed as of this past weekend! Pizzas on the patio, summer nights and a trip to Chicago to celebrate the nuptials of good friends. Does life get any better?

Only when this happens… Caught up with old friends! Sure, I’ll be your third wheel.

