It’s Taco Night!

image

It all started with a mango. What? Your taco nights don’t usually? Well this fruit that I hate to love can be quite inspiring when it’s not pissing you off.

Maybe I’m being harsh, but honestly does anyone know how to properly cut one of these things?? And do you ever end up getting enough fruit off of it to justify the cost usually? No, the answer is no to both questions. Well Giant Eagle decided to get a little cray around here and started basically handing them out at the door. Seriously, the bin was immediately as you walked in, the price was $1/each and suckers (me included) couldn’t fill their baskets with them fast enough. People get weird like that. One time blackberries were $1 and I saw a dude fill his cart with no less than 24 containers of them. No joke. I wanted to shake his hand.

Speaking of budgets, let’s get back to tacos. With my $1 mango, I grabbed a can of black beans ($0.89), added to it a gigantic zucchini ($1.50) from a local farmer’s market, a lime leftover from who knows what and some corn tortillas. I may have splurged on a jar of salsa earlier in the week and an avocado. Either way, this taco night was on the cheap. However, naturally while beginning to make my tacos I really wanted some chips to go with that lovely jar of salsa, however, let’s not get crazy. Did you not see my last post? I went to Chicago. I can’t afford tortilla chips.
image

So I made my own. Boom.
image

And so can you! It’s the easiest thing you may ever do. Take the corn tortillas you’ll be using for your tacos, place them on a baking sheet, lightly spray tortillas with olive oil spray, sprinkle them with kosher salt and a squeeze of lime. Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes at 375F, flipping halfway. Let them cool and crisp up a bit more before breaking them into pieces and scooping up salsa. Easy peasy.

Now for the tacos.

Ingredients:
1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 zucchini, chopped
1 tomato, chopped
1 avocado, chopped
1 mango, chopped
salsa of choice
small corn tortillas

One of two things can happen. You can either steam your tortillas to soften them a little by wrapping them in a damp paper towel and placing them in the microwave on a plate for a short time, 30 seconds-ish (do this right before eating). Or you can stick them in a skillet and let them crisp up slightly on each side. Your choice. I chose the crispy way.

Next, chop up that zucchini and saute it in a skillet, sprayed with nonstick spray, over medium-high heat. After about five minutes add your black beans and some salsa. Let simmer for another 5-8 minutes until the zucchini is cooked and everything is heated through.
image

Now let’s smash some tacos, shall we? Load up your tortillas with the bean/zucchini mixture, top with tomato, avocado, and mango. I found an almost empty bag of cheese in the fridge. Use it if you’ve got it, that’s what I always say. Now, Go.to.town.
image

Happy 4th of July!
image

One thought on “It’s Taco Night!

  1. Pingback: It’s Taco Night! – by TreHops.com

Comments are closed.