Sunday Mornings with Tracey

20130210-100803.jpg
Sometimes a girl just needs a night of wine and Eat Pray Love. That was my Saturday night. Each time I read the book or watch the movie I take something new away from it. Whatever I’m struggling with at the time can be put into perspective by a few quotes from the novel. As I rode the emotional roller coaster that was 2012, I have started 2013 off feeling overwhelmed and burnt out. Below are a few quotes I can relate to, with some of them hitting harder than others.

“You know what I felt this morning, Delia? Nothing. No passion, no spark, no faith, no heat, no nothing! I think I’ve really gotten past the point where I can be calling this a ‘bad moment’… This is worse than death to me, the idea that this is the person I’m going to be from now on… There’s like nothing – I have no pulse!”
“I used to have this appetite for food, for my life, and it is just gone! I want to go someplace where I can marvel at something, anything.”
“I am not checking out. I need to change.”
– Liz

Liz: Let me ask you something. In all the times that you’ve undressed in front of a gentleman, has he ever asked you to leave?
Sofi: No.
Liz: No – exactly! Because he doesn’t care. He’s in a room with a naked girl. He’s won the lottery! I’m so tired of saying no, and waking up in the morning and recalling everything I ate the day before – counting every calorie I consumed so I know exactly how much self-loathing to take into the shower. I’m going for it. I have no interest in being obese, I’m just through with the guilt. So, here’s what we’re going to do: we’re going to finish this pizza, and tomorrow, we’re going to buy ourselves some bigger jeans.

“It feels like a precious wound, like a heartbreak you won’t let go of because it hurts too good. We all want things to stay the same, David; settle for living in misery because we’re afraid of change, of things crumbling to ruins. Then I looked around in this place [the Augusteum], at the chaos its endured – the way it has been adapted, burned, pillaged and found a way to build itself back up again. And I was reassured that maybe my life hasn’t been so chaotic; it’s just the world that is and the only real trap is getting attached to any of it. Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation… We must always be prepared for endless waves of transformation. Both of us deserve better than staying together because we’re afraid we’ll be destroyed if we don’t.“ – Liz

“You have to learn to select your thoughts the same way that you select your clothes every day. Now that’s a power that you can cultivate… because if you can’t master your thoughts, you’re in trouble.” – Richard

“In the end, I’ve come to believe in something I call the ‘physics of the quest’, a force in nature governed by the laws of gravity. The rules of quest physics goes something like this: If you’re brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting and set out on a truth seeking journey either internally or externally, and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher and if you are prepared most of all to face and forgive some of the most difficult realities about yourself, then the truth will not be withheld from you.” – Liz

“You want to know your problem? Americans! You work too hard, you get burned out. Then you come home and spend the whole weekend in your PJs in front of the TV! … But you don’t know pleasure. You have to be told you’ve earned it. An Italian doesn’t need to be told.” – Italian Inn Keeper

“The only thing more impossible than staying was leaving. I didn’t want to hurt anybody. I wanted to slip quietly out the back door and not stop until I reached Greenland. Instead, I made a decision.” – Liz

