The season of sacrifice

As many of you are aware, and probably celebrate, the Lent season has arrived. During this time you are supposed to refrain from eating meat on Fridays and challenging yourself to sacrifice something for 40 days. I’m not going to get into the “why” of Lent, you can research that on your own if you are interested. However, I do my part every year by giving up something that truly will be a challenge for me. So, as much as I’d like to give up work and stress, there’s that whole I-need-a-paycheck-to-be-a-functioning-member-of-society thing that holds me back. This year I have decided to give up something that I consume every.single.day. Nut butters (I really wish there was a better way to phrase that).

You’re asking yourself, “Every day??” Oh, yes. Most of the time in rare form, from a spoon (actually finger), straight from the jar. So,see ya later peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, and any others that fall into that category! I’ll see you all in 40 days. In which I will probably host a party…BYOJ (bring your own jar).

 

 

…and to think, I almost gave up chocolate. I’m hoping God will understand. Who would start Lent and give up chocolate during PMS?? Only a crazy person.

 

