Where you gettin’ your biscuits from??

On a recent road trip to Florida, my friend and I were stopped at a gas station and heard a man yell this phrase to his wife. Now, I’m not knocking the people of West Virginia for liking their biscuits. That was clear when we saw constant signage and buildings that read “Biscuit World”. All I’m saying is, when you’re right next door to a place that’s called “Biscuit World”, why is this even a question???

Biscuits are hit or miss for me and honestly, there are many other things I’d rather have if I’m going the bread route. However, last weekend I was craving a good, old-fashioned egg sandwich…on a biscuit. And, if you know me, you know I usually give into a craving. I just find a way to make it better!

Mission accomplished.

20130605-193352.jpg

20130605-193401.jpg

Better for you Biscuits (gluten free)

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups almond flour/meal
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp butter, melted
1 tbsp pure honey
3 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
2 large eggs

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, combine almond flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together melted butter and honey, until smooth. Add the almond milk and eggs, whisking together until well combined.
4. Using a spoon, stir the wet mixture into the dry mixture until thoroughly combined.
5. Drop biscuit dough by large spoonfuls onto a parchment-lined baking sheet, placing the biscuits approximately two-inches apart. Bake about 15 minutes, until golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.

Disclaimer: These are definitely not your typical fluffy, buttery, unhealthy-but-delicious biscuits. These are nutty, slightly crumbly, healthy-but-delicious biscuits. If that’s not your thing, head to Biscuit World.

